Main Content Anchor

R & M McGivern Prize



We received a record 450 entries this year with outstanding entries coming from all over the country.

The 2019 finalists are:

Nicholas Aplin, Kate Beynon, Amber Boardman, Angela Brennan, Janet Burchill, Dord Burrough, Penelope Cain, Hamish Carr, Kevin Chin, Nadine Christensen, Dale Cox, Nicola Dickson, Fernando do Campo, Briell Ellison, Josh Foley, Juan Ford, Betra Fraval, Deanne Gilson, Helga Groves, Stephen Haley, Katherine Hattam, Euan Heng, Sophia Hewson, Miles Howard-Wilks, Deborah Klein, Kate Kurucz, Emma Lindsay, Tony Lloyd, Dane Lovett, Simon MacEwan, Jordan Marani, Sam Martin, Andrew Mezei, Luke Pither, Kenny Pittock, Victoria Reichelt, Mark Rodda, Evangelos Sakaris, Kate Shaw, Shannon Smiley, Julian Aubrey Smith, Jacqui Stockdale, Camilla Tadich, Jelena Telecki and Sarah Tomasetti.

About the prize

The R & M McGivern Prize is back bigger and bolder in 2019! The theme for 2019 is ‘Anthropocene'.

Held every three years, with a different theme each year, the $25,000 acquisitive prize for painting calls for artists across Australia to consider the impact of human habitation on the environment.

A concept proposed by scientists to describe the current era, the Anthropocene directly translates to 'anthro' (human) and 'cene' (recent). It proposes that changes occurring within the environment may be a direct and permanent result of human behaviour.

The R & M McGivern Prize will be exhibited across two venues from 23 November 2019 to 1 February 2020 at ArtSpace at Realm and Maroondah Federation Estate Gallery.

The 2019 Judges:

  • Charlotte Day, Director, Monash University Museum of Art
  • Ryan Johnston, Director, Buxton Contemporary
  • Penny Teale, Bunjil Place Gallery Curator

Read more about the prize on our Terms and Conditions and key dates page

About the R & M McGivern Prize 

The R & M McGivern Prize was established by the will of the late Muriel Evelyn McGivern and is a legacy of Muriel’s support of the arts in Maroondah. In accordance with her will, the acquisitive Prize is awarded by the Perpetual Trustee Company every three years for the painting that is the judged the most worthy by an expert panel of judges.

The prize is acquisitive and the winning art work becomes part of the Maroondah City Council Art Collection, contributing to Council’s aim of building a high quality collection of works for the people of the Maroondah  region to enjoy. 

Previous winners

The most recent winner was awarded in 2016 to Rose Nolan for her work Big Words - QUOTE/UNQUOTE.

Quote Unquote

See previous winners and their artworks

About Muriel McGivern

Muriel McGivern passed away on 29 January 2000. McGivern lived a richly creative life, and the R & M McGivern Prize was borne from her desire to provide an art prize within her local Croydon community.

Muriel Evelyn McGivern (nee Britten) was born on Saturday 1 October 1904. She lived her entire life in what is now known as the City of Maroondah and is fondly remembered for her colourful writings, paintings of the Australian landscape, and dedicated local history publications. Muriel is also noted as the founder of the Croydon Historical Society and Museum in 1963.

Muriel McGivern
Back to top