Main Content Anchor

Council elections

Maroondah City Council consists of 9 councillors elected by the Maroondah community every 4 years.

The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) conducts Council Elections and manages all aspects of the election process. Voting is compulsory for most people on the electoral roll.

Council elections - 24 October 2020

Like all Victorian Councils, Maroondah holds elections every 4 years, on the 4th Saturday in October. The last election was in 2016. The next election is 24 October 2020.

Anyone on the Maroondah City Council Voters' Roll can stand as a candidate at Council elections (some minor restrictions apply).

New ward structure for Maroondah

The Minister for Local Government has determined that Maroondah’s electoral structure will change to have nine single member wards for the 2020 local government elections.

The structure that will apply at the council election on 24 October 2020 is:

  • 9 councillors – 9 x single-councillor wards

You will vote for one person to represent your ward only.

View a map of the new wards

What is my new ward?

Enter your address on the Victorian Electoral Commission website to find your new ward:

Find my ward

Back to top