Council partnerships

Eastern Affordable Housing Alliance

The Eastern Affordable Housing Alliance (EAHA) advocates for increased affordable housing in the Eastern Metro region of Melbourne to meet the needs of our communities for safe, secure and affordable housing now and in the future.

Membership consists of:

  • Knox City Council
  • Maroondah City Council
  • Manningham City Council
  • Monash City Council
  • Whitehorse City Council
  • Yarra Ranges Council

See more about the Eastern Affordable Housing Alliance.

Eastern Alliance for Greenhouse Action

The Eastern Alliance for Greenhouse Action (EAGA) began in 2008 as an informal network of councils committed to addressing climate change issues through the delivery of community programs.

The EAGA region members are the cities of Boroondara, Knox, Maroondah, Monash, Stonnington, Whitehorse and Yarra Ranges.

EAGA provides a great opportunity for the region to:

  • encourage sharing of experiences, knowledge and resources
  • attract investment for large projects which address climate change issues across the area
  • engage the community to support behaviour change and adoption of sustainable actions.

See more about the Eastern Alliance for Greenhouse Action.

Eastern Alliance for Sustainable Learning (EASL)

The Alliance works with other stakeholders to promote lifelong learning and action that improves the health, wellbeing and environmental sustainability of local communities by:

  • promoting innovative learning and teaching that fosters environmental citizenship.
  • advocating for a strong and consistent commitment to learning for sustainability.
  • building capacity of local education providers and member Councils to deliver effective sustainability initiatives to their communities.

The Alliance is a group of five member Councils, including Knox City Council, Manningham City Council, Maroondah City Council, Whitehorse City Council, and Yarra Ranges Council.

More about the Eastern Alliance for Sustainable Learning.

Your Library

The Board is responsible for the running of Your Library and the provision of the regional library service to the three member Councils: Maroondah, Knox and Yarra Ranges.  

Libraries in Maroondah are located at:

  • Realm (Ringwood Town Square)
  • Croydon (Croydon Civic precinct) Each member Council provides two Councillor representatives

See more about Your Library.

Eastern Regional Group of Councils

The group represents and advocates for the collective interests of the seven Councils within the Metropolitan Eastern region:

  • Boroondara
  • Knox
  • Manningham
  • Maroondah
  • Monash
  • Whitehorse
  • Yarra Ranges 

More about the Eastern Regional Group of Councils.

Eastern Transport Coalition

The coalition advocates for improvements to public transport that generally have region wide benefits. It works cooperatively with Councils, stakeholders and governments; supports improvements when they occur; and represents the public transport needs and priorities of the region.

Member Councils are:

  • City of Greater Dandenong
  • Knox
  • Manningham
  • Maroondah City Council
  • Monash
  • Whitehorse
  • Yarra Ranges 

See more about the Eastern Transport Coalition.

Maroondah Communities of Wellbeing Committee

The Committee aims to improve Maroondah’s community wellbeing through positive psychology initiatives in partnership with a range of community leaders. Read more about the Maroondah Communities of Wellbeing Committee.

Maroondah Liquor Accord

Liquor accords are voluntary partnerships among community members that aim to reduce alcohol-related issues, anti-social behaviour and violence. 

The Maroondah Liquor Accord is a joint initiative between licensees, Victoria Police, Council and the Victorian Commission for Gambling and Liquor Regulation.  

More about the Maroondah Liquor Accord.

Metropolitan Local Government Waste Forum

The Metropolitan Local Government Waste Forum (MLGW Forum) supports the effective operation of the Metropolitan Waste & Resource Recovery Group . The Forum consists of a councillor (voting member) and a council officer (as an advisory, non-voting member) from each of the 31 council areas that make up the Group's region. 

Municipal Association of Victoria – State Council

This Association of Victorian Municipal Authorities undertakes an advocacy role and representation on behalf of member Councils and the local government sector to the State Government. 

Representation to the Federal Government is via the Australian Local Government Association.

More about the Municipal Association of Victoria State Council.

National Local Government Drug and Alcohol Advisory Committee

The Committee aims to reduce the impact of alcohol and other drugs across Australia, from capital cities to remote areas, by advocating local government perspectives to national and state policy makers.

Regional Alcohol Density Project

Maroondah, along with seven other south-east Melbourne Councils, is currently working towards a group councils amendment to their respective planning schemes that will strengthen the decision making capabilities of Council through the assessment of planning applications for packaged liquor outlets

This collaboration involves Casey, Cardinia, Greater Dandenong, Knox, Kingston, Frankston, Mornington Peninsula and Maroondah. The group planning scheme amendment will build on previous research linking alcohol-related harm to packaged liquor outlets.  The overall goal is to assist Councils to reduce violence in their community.