About Council

Maroondah City Council was constituted as a new municipality on 15 December 1994, bringing together the smaller cities of Ringwood and Croydon with areas of Doncaster, Templestowe and Lilydale. 

Our wards

The City of Maroondah is made up of 9 wards: Barngeong, Bungalook, Jubilee, McAlpin, Tarralla, Wicklow, Wonga, Wombalano and Yarrunga. Each ward is represented by one Councillor. 

Our elected representatives

Councillors are elected to represent the local community. Council therefore aims to recognise and protect the rights, interests and responsibilities of residents, businesses, individuals and public bodies within the City of Maroondah in accordance with the Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities.