Main Content Anchor

Australia Day Awards recipients

The Maroondah Australia Day Awards recognise the achievements of Australians and the contribution they make to the Maroondah community. Awards are presented in three categories:

  • Citizen of the Year
  • Young Citizen of the Year
  • Community Event of the Year.

Australia Day award winners 2021

Citizen of the Year - Anupa Shah

Anupa was born in Nairobi, Kenya and moved to Australia in 1999. After moving to Australia, she soon started volunteering her services to a range of organisations. She has recently completed a Diploma in Community Services.

Anupa works as a volunteer for the Sikh Volunteers Australia Organisation, a non-profit volunteer organisation focusing on reducing distress in the community by providing free food to disadvantaged families.

Anupa also participates in the Food and Blanket Drive Project where she provides support for homeless people, distributing home-cooked food and blankets. She also volunteers to visit older people in their homes who are isolated from society, providing a friendly face and conversation; and she provides respite support for foster families.

Young Citizen of the Year - Lachlan Kennedy

Lachlan is an outstanding young person who gives 100 per cent to every opportunity he is given. Lachlan was one of the Heathmont College school captains for 2020 before he finished his VCE.

Lachlan is a current member of the Maroondah Youth Wellbeing Advocates program which provides two-way engagement between Council and young people. Lachlan has shown maturity in providing feedback on important Council documents and is always willing to share his opinion in a respectful manner. Lachlan also created a wellbeing project at school as part of the Maroondah Student Wellbeing Action Teams project.

Lachlan MC'd the 2020 Maroondah Youth Awards, has been involved in multiple video projects with Council, and is following his passion for working with people by studying a Bachelor of Youth Work in 2021.

Community Event of the Year - Glen Park and Eastland Food Relief Collection Services

Community Event of the Year winners

Glen Park Community Centre offers a food relief frozen meal distribution service for those doing it tough. However, the COVID-19 restrictions during 2020 have impacted the service, in particular the travel restrictions imposed under Stage 4 limited the ability to move around freely and safely.

Glen Park Community Centre pivoted its Order and Collect service to provide food relief meal distribution, to help keep those in need fed during the challenging time for Victorians.

The Centre partnered with Eastland and launched the Eastland Order & Collect service in May, allowing customers to place an order directly over the phone at any participating Eastland retailer and collect on the same day from the convenience and safety of their car through the Eastland Valet area. A no contact option was implemented for those travelling by public transport via a separate collection point in the Valet area. This was a first for both Eastland and Glen Park Community Centre.

This partnership has allowed Glen Park to be able to connect with people in need who may not have known about or had access to Glen Park Community Centre previously, enabling more members of the community who may be struggling to gain support and easier access given Eastland’s proximity to public transport.

Since the service launched almost 350 meals have been distributed to Maroondah residents in need and will continue to support the Maroondah community post this pandemic.


Year Community Event of the Year Young Citizen of the Year Citizen of the Year
2021 Glen Park Community Centre & Eastland Lachlan Kennedy Anupa Shah
2020 Winter Shelter Ben Voogd Averil Embury
2019 Ringwood & District Historical Society Prateeti Sabhlok Ian Barnes
2018 Ringwood Secondary College Georgia Read Dr Graeme Lorimer
2017 Ringwood East Bendigo Community Bank Hau Za Cin Kip Gen Jill Cowie
2016 Maroondah Schools Anzac Service Ashley Cooke Ian Ware
2015 Croydon Toy Library Emily Roberts Gretta Fuller
2014 Women’s Health East Stacey Cadman Anne Hubbard
2013 Maroondah Relay for Life Esther Loughnane Peter Feeney
2012 Maroondah Community Remembrance Day Ceremony - Youth Voice for Peace Frances Rowlands Peter McArthur
2011 Maroondah Education Coalition, Aquinas College & Audio District Maroondah FReeZA Group Beth Purcell Terri Verberne
2010 Ringwood Football Club James Andrews Tony Hart
2009 Monkami Centre Michael Higgins Jenny Newman
Back to top